Rachmaninow | Tschaikowsky

Ballet by Xin Peng Wang

Music by Sergej Rachmaninow and Peter Tschaikowsky

With his great, visually stunning story ballets Faust, Magic Mountain, Hamlet, The Dream of the Red Chamber or War and Peace, to name just a few of his acclaimed creations, Dortmund’s ballet director has broken new textual ground for the dance art of our times.

“The dancing body philosophizes and researches – Xin Peng Wang proves this again and again.” (WDR)

In his new creation, he dares to take a peek behind the scenes of the art. In a sensitive and highly personal tightrope walk between bravura and interiority, he explores the motor activity and dynamics of artistic creation. Sergej Rachmaninow’s Piano Concerto No. 3, this firework of artistic brilliance and virtuosity, and Peter Tchaikowsky’s enigmatic Sixth Symphony serve the choreographer as a starting point for questions at the interface of art and life: What drives us to artistic performance peaks? What lets us cross boundaries again and again? Why are we reaching for the stars?


  • Piano Solo: Nikolai Tokarev, William Youn
  • Musical Director: Gabriel Feltz, Motonori Kobayashi
  • Choreography: Xin Peng Wang
  • Concept, Scenario, Dramaturgy: Christian Baier
  • Set Design: Frank Fellmann
  • Light Design: Bonnie Beecher
  • Costumes: Bernd Skodzig

Tickets and Information







NRW Juniorballett